Explore This Section

Metropolitan Statistical Areas in the Three-State Region

Metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) are urbanized areas meeting certain size criteria. Each consists of at least one county and may include adjacent counties. The following is a list of metropolitan statistical areas in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware (and their constituent counties) for which the Research Department compiles data obtained from federal agencies and other sources. Note that some metropolitan statistical areas include counties in more than one state.

The Research Department also compiles data for Philadelphia City and calculates combined data for the counties outside Philadelphia that are within the Philadelphia MSA.



Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA
Carbon County, PA
Lehigh County, PA
Northampton County, PA
Warren County, NJ
Altoona, PA
Blair County, PA
Erie, PA
Erie County, PA
Harrisburg-Carlisle, PA
Cumberland County, PA
Dauphin County, PA
Perry County, PA
Johnstown, PA
Cambria County, PA
Lancaster, PA
Lancaster County, PA
Lebanon, PA
Lebanon County, PA
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD
Camden, NJ Metropolitan Division
Burlington Country, NJ
Camden County, NJ
Gloucester County, NJ
Philadelphia, PA Metropolitan Division
Bucks County, PA
Chester County, PA
Delaware County, PA
Montgomery County, PA
Philadelphia County, PA
Wilmington, DE-MD-NJ
New Castle County,DE
Cecil County, MD
Salem County, NJ

Pittsburgh, PA
Allegheny County, PA
Armstrong County, PA
Beaver County, PA
Butler County, PA
Fayette County, PA
Washington County, PA
Westmoreland County, PA
Reading, PA
Berks County, PA
Scranton-Wilkes-Barre-Hazleton, PA
Lackawanna County, PA
Luzerne County, PA
Wyoming County, PA
State College, PA
Centre County, PA
Williamsport, PA
Lycoming County, PA
York-Hanover, PA
York County, PA

New Jersey


Atlantic City-Cape May, NJ
Atlantic County, NJ
Camden, NJ Metropolitan Division
Burlington Country, NJ
Camden County, NJ
Gloucester County, NJ
Edison, NJ Metropolitan Division
Middlesex County, NJ
Monmouth County, NJ
Ocean County, NJ
Somerset County, NJ
Newark-Union, NJ-PA Metropolitan Division
Essex County, NJ
Hunterdon County, NJ
Morris County, NJ
Sussex County, NJ
Union County, NJ
Pike County, PA
Ocean City, NJ
Cape May County, NJ
Trenton-Ewing, NJ
Mercer County, NJ
Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton, NJ
Cumberland County, NJ



Dover, DE
Kent County, DE
Wilmington, DE-MD-NJ Metropolitan Division
New Castle County, DE
Cecil County, MD
Salem County, NJ

Return to the main page for regional employment, unemployment, and selected statistics.