For immediate release

Contact: Kelly Antonacci, Media Relations

Philadelphia, PA — The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia today announced the appointment of Christopher J. Annas, founder, chairman, president, and chief executive officer of Meridian Corporation, to its Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council (CDIAC). Annas begins his three-year term in March 2022.

The 12-member council is composed of representatives from commercial banks, thrift institutions, and credit unions. The group convenes twice a year with officials from the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia to share insights about economic and business trends facing community depository institutions in their local markets. After each local meeting, a representative from the Philadelphia council joins counterparts from other Federal Reserve Banks at a meeting hosted by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in Washington, D.C.

Annas has more than 30 years of banking experience in various commercial lending capacities. Before starting Meridian, he was president, chief executive officer, and cofounder of Stonebridge Bank in West Chester, PA. Annas also previously served as regional vice president of Summit Bank. In that role, he led the company’s small business lending effort in the Delaware Valley, managed its large corporate lending effort in Pennsylvania and southern New Jersey, and managed its national media communications business. Annas currently serves on the Foundation Board of Paoli Hospital and on the Community Bank Council of the American Bankers Association.

Jeane M. Vidoni, chair of the Philadelphia Fed’s CDIAC since 2020, will serve as vice president of the Federal Reserve Board’s CDIAC in 2022. She is president and chief executive officer of Penn Community Bank.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia helps formulate and implement monetary policy, supervises state member banks, bank holding companies, and savings and loan holding companies, and provides financial services to depository institutions and the federal government. It is one of the 12 regional Reserve Banks that, together with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia serves eastern and central Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and Delaware.