Recent Events

Fair Lending Issues and Hot Topics

Outlook Live Webinar
Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Times:11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Pacific
12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. Mountain
1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Central
2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. Eastern

Please join us for a discussion of fair lending issues and hot topics, sponsored by the Non-Discrimination Working Group of the Financial Fraud Enforcement Task Force.

The Financial Fraud Enforcement Task Force was created by President Obama in November 2009 and is the largest coalition whose purpose is to confront financial fraud relating to the financial crisis. The Task Force has a five-part mission, one of which is to address discrimination in the lending and financial markets.

The Non-Discrimination Working Group focuses on financial fraud and unfair practices directed at people or neighborhoods based on race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, or any other basis prohibited by law. The Working Group is chaired by representatives of the Department of Justice, the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Federal Reserve Board, and the Attorney General of Illinois on behalf of the State Attorneys General.

During this session, representatives from the Non-Discrimination Working Group will discuss a variety of emerging fair lending issues and hot topics. Introductory remarks will be provided by Thomas Perez, Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Justice; and Sandra Braunstein, Director of the Division of Consumer and Community Affairs, Federal Reserve Board. Speakers of this event will represent a variety of agencies, including:

  • Department of Justice;
  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau;
  • Federal Reserve Board;
  • Office of the Comptroller of the Currency;
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development; and
  • National Credit Union Administration.

This webinar is part of an ongoing series of events focused specifically on consumer compliance issues. The “Outlook Live” Audio Conference is a Federal Reserve System initiative produced in conjunction with the quarterly newsletter Consumer Compliance Outlook.

Outlook Live Webinar

Listen to the audio and view the slides of the webinar held on Wednesday, November 2, 2011. Webinar

Presentation Materials