skip navigation

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

[ – ] Text Size [ + ]  |  Print Page

Get Money Smart For Free

For release: September 18, 2003
Contact: Kathy Woodbury, (215) 574-4119

PHILADELPHIA - Basic education about money and borrowing is valuable - and it can be had for free. Residents in the Philadelphia and South Jersey area may take a free course "It's Your Money" in Burlington Township, N.J., in October or November.

The course will cover topics ranging from bank accounts to homeownership. Students also will learn about borrowing, savings, consumer rights and responsibilities, and credit cards. Learning about these important topics could help students make informed financial decisions and save them from being victimized because of a lack of understanding about money matters.

“Having an understanding of the financial system and credit gives you a jump start,” said Joe Krencicki of the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia. Krencicki will teach the course, using the curriculum “MoneySmart” developed by the FDIC.

The course will be taught in five consecutive evenings from 7 pm to 9 pm at Burlington Township High School, 610 Fountain Avenue, Burlington, N.J.

Students may attend both sessions, one session or individual classes. Those interested in the October session may choose a one-hour program which gives a brief overview of the course, on Wednesday, October 8; Tuesday, October 14; or Thursday, October 16. The session will begin Monday, October 27 and end Friday, October 31. November introductory programs will be offered on Monday, November 3; Wednesday, November 5; Tuesday, November 11; or Thursday, November 13. The session will begin Monday, November 17, and end Friday, November 21.

The course is free, but space is limited; please register by Wednesday, October 8, for the first October session and by Thursday, November 6, for the second session. Contact Joe Krencicki at 215-574-3946.

E-Mail Notification

Stay informed by getting the latest press releases from the Philadelphia Fed.

Sign Up

Media Contacts

Marilyn Wimp, ABC E-mail
Manager of Media Relations
(215) 574-4197
(267) 254-4555 (cell)

Katherine Q. Dibling E-mail
Public Affairs Specialist
(215) 574-4119
(215) 694-5125 (cell)

Daneil Mazone E-mail
Media Relations Representative
(215) 574-7163
(267) 535-1808 (cell)